About CIRS

The Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) at Anhui University was founded jointly in October, 2015 by Anhui Provincial Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) and Anhui University (AHU) in an effort to create the first think tank of the province dedicated to the research of international issues. CIRS sees as its objective to become a platform for academic studies  and think tank services that integrates academic research, professional training, policy consultation and international exchanges. 


2016051500010977977.jpg

AHU President Cheng Hua and DFA Director Wang Xin at CIRS inauguration ceremony


Think tank services:

Collect and analyze international information regarding Anhui;

Lead research on major hot and challenging international issues regarding Anhui;

Provide quality consultation for diplomatic strategies and foreign policies;

Train high-end think tank researchers of international issues;

Create a platform for international exchanges and cooperation.


Development goals:

Create a database for international information regarding Anhui;

Build a research team dedicated to research of public policy and decision-making;

Promote the image of Anhui and China to the outside world;

Enhance professional training and reform training of high-end think tank talents;

Establish development coalition and promote international exchanges and cooperation.


CIRS structure:

CIRS consists of five institutes, namely, Center for Russian Studies, Institute of Latin America Studies, Center for West Asia and North Africa Studies, Center for EU Studies, and Center for Asia-Pacific Studies. The Center for Russian Studies was founded in 1979 as an institute for the study of the former USSR, which changed to its current name in 1992. The Institute of Latin America Studies was founded in August, 2013 jointly by the Republic of Suriname and Anhui University, which was an unprecedented effort for the promotion of Latin America studies in China. The Institute of Latin America ranked among the top think tank agencies of China in 2015. The Center for West Asia and North Africa Studies was founded in May, 2015, which got support from former special envoy to the Middle East Ambassador Wu Sike, and renowned scholar of African studies and Yangtze Scholar Liu Hongwu, who served as its advisors. The Center for EU Studies was founded in March, 2016 with support from Anhui Provincial Department of Foreign Affairs, which covers studies in areas such as economics, laws, politics, diplomacy and culture. The Center for Asia-Pacific Studies has been recently established for the promotion of research regarding Asia-Pacific regions. CIRS set up a center for academic materials and information in August, 2013, which has received support and donations from the General Consulate of Mexico in Shanghai, Embassy of Suriname, Embassy of Iran, and universities from Russia and Mexico, with a collection of over 20, 000 professional books. 


Expert team and research:

CIRS has over 90 full-time and part-time researchers, with 43 professors and 30 associate professors, and most of them have Ph.D. degrees with overseas academic, exchange and work experience. CIRS researchers have presided over 5 major projects sponsored by the National Social Science Foundation, 2 major projects sponsored by the Ministry of Education, 40 general projects and Youth Projects sponsored by the National Social Science Foundation, about 80 projects at provincial and ministerial levels, and over 100 horizontal projects. CIRS experts have already published over 100 monographs, over 300 CSSCI articles, and over 30 policy and decision-making consultation reports, with some reviewed and approved by national and provincial leaders, and won over 20 national and provincial awards.


International exchange and cooperation:

Since the establishment of CIRS, ambassadors from Suriname, South Korea, Iran, and Bahrain, General Consul of Mexico in Shanghai, officials from the Agricultural Ministry of Ecuador, university delegations from Russia and Mexico, professors from the United States, Spain, and other countries have visited CIRS. In addition, CIRS has established overseas bases for research and training with universities in countries such as Chile, Ukraine, and Azerbaijan. CIRS members have made visits of academic exchange to over 30 countries and regions including Mexico, Chile, Spain, Russia, UK, US, South Korea, Japan, South Africa, Iran, Nigeria, Zambia and Tanzania. CIRS has received over 20 international students from countries such as Mexico, Iran and Russia. 


Contact: Fan Hesheng (CIRS Director, and Deputy Director of AHU School of Sociology and Political Science)

Email: fhs117@sina.com Office: 0551-6386-1762 Mobile: 135-0560-2193


20160516154932583258.jpg


Ph.D. Supervisor and Professor FAN Hesheng is Deputy Chair of School of Sociology and Political Science of Anhui University (AHU), Director of Center for International and Regional Studies as well as Director of Institute for Latin America Studies(ILAS) at AHU. Among his other titles are AHU Excellent Middle Age and Youth Academic Talents, Director of Postgraduate Program for Sociology of AHU, member of the 2nd Instruction Committee for Social Work Postgraduate Education, Chair of Anhui Provincial Society for Socio-psychology, Deputy Chair of Anhui Provincial Society of Sociology, board member of China Society of Sociology, member of the Standing Committee of China Society of Socio-psychology, Consultant on Legislation for Anhui Provincial Government, member of the 7th Committee of Anhui Association of Social Scientists, and an expert commentator for Anhui Broadcasting Station. In recent years, he has supervised one sub-project of Major Project for National Social Science Foundation(NSSF), one general NSSF project, supervised and participated in over 10 projects at ministerial and provincial levels. He has published over 50 papers in various types of leading academic journals, 8 monographs, and edited about 30 textbooks. He has long been devoted to the teaching and research in social development theories, political sociology, Latin America modernization and Sino-LatAm relations. His research in Latin America modernization and Sino-LatAm relations has been fruitful and influential. He began to serve as the first ILAS Director, and published the paper How Should China View Latin America - Review and Reflections on Domestic Research, which was reproduced in full text on the 12th issue of International Politics by Renmin University of China in 2014, as well as by influential portal websites such as Thinktank China, Ziguangge, Gongshi, CPC News, China Social Science Net, Sino-LatAm Trade website, First Thinktank, Diplomatic Observer. His article Middle Income Trap, Is It Itself a Theoretical Trap? was published in the special NSSF column of People's Forum - Academic Frontier, a leading national journal for theoretical studies, which was soon reproduced online by leading websites such as Huaxia web, Frontline of Beijing Municipal CPC Committee, Zhongdao web, Study Web for Chinese Leaders, NSSF web, and China Social Science Net, and proved to be influential in academia and effective for political consultation.

本院简介

安徽大学国别和区域研究院成立于2015年10月,是安徽省人民政府外事办公室和安徽大学合作共建的安徽省首家致力于国际问题研究的新型特色智库。研究院旨在以高起点、国际化的视野,聚集有志于国别和区域研究的人才,努力建设成为一个学科综合、队伍一流、管理先进的集学术研究、人才培养、政策咨询、国际交流为一体的学术机构和思想智库。


QQ图片20160514232954.jpg

安徽大学程桦校长和安徽省外办王信主任为研究院揭牌


智库定位: 

安徽涉外信息资源采集和分析中心;安徽涉外重大热点难点问题研究的引领者;国内高水平外交战略和对外政策咨询服务中心;国际问题研究的高端智库人才培养基地;政府、企业和高校国际交流与合作的重要平台。


发展目标: 

建立数据库,加强安徽涉外信息资源的采集和处理;打造研究团队,提升公共政策研究和决策咨询研究能力;扩大对外宣传,提高国际问题和涉外问题研究成果质量;加强人才建设,推进安徽高端智库人才培养模式改革;建立发展联盟,加强政府、企业和高校国际交流与合作。


机构建设: 

研究院下设“俄罗斯研究中心”、“拉丁美洲研究所”、“西亚北非研究中心”、“欧盟研究中心”、“亚太研究中心”(筹)等5个研究机构,并已分别建立相关学术网站。其中“俄罗斯研究中心”前身为成立于1979年的“苏联问题研究所”,1992年改名为“俄罗斯研究中心”,出版学术刊物《俄罗斯文化研究》;“拉丁美洲研究所”成立于2013年8月,由苏里南共和国和安徽大学合作共建,是国内高校首个与国外政府合作共建的拉美研究机构,并于2015年成功入选中国智库名录;“西亚北非研究中心”成立于2015年5月,由前中国中东问题特使吴思科大使,知名非洲问题研究专家,长江学者刘鸿武教授担任顾问,中东问题研究专家王泽壮教授担任中心主任。欧盟研究中心成立于2016年3月,与安徽省人民政府外事办合作共建,研究方向囊括欧盟政治、法制、经济、外交和文化多个领域。亚太研究中心筹建工作基本完毕,已具备开展对外研究和决策咨询工作的基本条件。研究院还有学术资料中心成立于2013年8月,已获得墨西哥上海总领事馆、墨西哥尤卡坦州立大学、苏里南大使馆、伊朗驻华大使馆、俄罗斯奥廖尔国立大学、俄罗斯楚瓦什国立大学等机构捐赠的大量外文图书和相关研究资料,共计2万余册。研究院成立以来,已承担安徽省外事办、商务厅、科技厅、安全厅等部门委托研究课题多项。


人才队伍建设与科研成果: 

研究院现有专兼职科研人员90余人,其中教授43人,副教授30人,多数科研人员具有博士学位,并有海外学习、交流和工作经历,是一支人员结构合理、研究水平较高、决策咨询能力较强、实际工作经验丰富的创新型研究团队。研究院科研人员现已承担国家社科基金重大项目 5项,教育部哲学社会科学重大攻关项目 2 项,国家社科基金一般项目和青年项目近40项,省部级项目近80余项,横向课题百余项;共出版专著100余部;在国内CSSCI核心学术期刊上发表论文300余篇;累计完成决策咨询报告30余篇,其中多篇被中央、省市领导批示;共获国家和省部级奖励20余项。


国际交流和合作: 

研究院成立以来,苏里南共和国驻华大使、韩国驻华大使、伊朗驻华大使、巴林驻华大使、墨西哥驻上海总领事、厄瓜多尔农业部、俄罗斯楚瓦什国立大学代表团、墨西哥尤卡坦大学代表团、美国加州州立大学圣马克斯分校副校长Mike Schroder教授、西班牙Pontifica Comillas大学国际问题研究中心主任Emiliano Garcia Coso教授等50多个国家和地区人员访问研究院。此外,研究院已与智利圣托玛斯大学孔子学院、乌克兰哈尔科夫国立大学孔子学院和阿塞拜疆巴库国立大学孔子学院合作建立多个海外研究实践基地。研究院成员累计出访墨西哥、智利、西班牙、俄罗斯、英国、美国、韩国、日本、南非、伊朗、尼日利亚、赞比亚、坦桑尼亚等30多个国家和地区。累计接收墨西哥、伊朗、俄罗斯等国家20余名留学生交流学习。


联系人:范和生 (安徽大学国别和区域研究院院长、安徽大学社会与政治学院副院长)

邮箱:fhs117@sina.com 电话:0551-6386-1762 手机:135-0560-2193


ddddddddddddd.jpg


范和生,现为安徽大学社会与政治学院副院长、安徽大学国别和区域研究院院长兼拉丁美洲研究所所长、教授、博士生导师、安徽大学中青年学术骨干、安徽大学社会学一级学科硕士点负责人、第二届全国社会工作专业学位研究生教育指导委员会委员、安徽省社会心理学会会长、安徽省社会学会副会长、中国社会学会理事、中国社会心理学会常务理事、安徽省政府立法咨询员、安徽省社会科学界联合会第七届委员会委员、安徽省广播电台特约评论员。近年来主持国家社会基金重大项目子课题1项,主持国家社科基金一般项目1项,主持和参与省部级科研项目10多项。已在各类核心期刊上发表论文50多篇,出版著作8部,主编各类教材30余部。长期从事社会发展理论、政治社会学、拉美现代化和中拉关系的教学与研究工作。在拉美现代化和中拉关系等领域开展了较有成效的研究,并产生了一定影响。2013年担任安徽大学拉丁美洲研究所第一任所长,其论文《中国应怎样认识拉美——国内相关研究动态与镜鉴意义》被人大复印资料《国际政治》2014年12期全文转载,并被智库中国、紫光阁、共识网、中国共产党新闻网、中国社会科学网、中拉经贸合作网、第一智库、外交观察、八闽社会科学普及网等全文转载。《“中等收入陷阱”,本身就是理论陷阱?》在国家级理论期刊《人民论坛•学术前沿》国家社科基金发布专栏发表,并迅速被华夏网、北京市委前线网、中道网、中国干部学习网、国家社科基金网、中国社会科学网等转载,获得了较为显著的学术影响和资政效果。